[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Edwards Public Library rewards youth for summer reading


The Edwards Public Library celebrated the end of 2014 Texas Summer Reading Club “Fizz, Boom, Read” with a Certificate Party at the Holman Center on Wednesday, July 16. Fifty reading program participants attended the celebration.

Clay County Judge Kenneth Liggett and Henrietta City Manager Kelly Bloodworth presented the Texas Reading Club Certificates. Of the 186 readers that signed up for the Texas Reading Club, one 155 read at least one hour and received an ice cream cone coupon from Henrietta Dairy Queen, a book bag from the Edwards Public Library, a pen from Fidelity Bank of Henrietta, a bookmark from Wells Fargo Bank of Henrietta and a “Fizz, Boom, Read” paint sheet from the Edwards Public Library.

There were 134 readers who read at least read three hours also received a reading club certificate and book of their choice. There were 100 readers who read over six hours and also received a small Sonic Slush coupon. There were 60 readers who read over ten hours received a prize from the prize box. This year’s secret reading number was 12.5 hours. There were 44 who received book band bracelets. There were 14 readers who received a tote bag for reading more than 20 hours. There were eight readers who read more 30 hours and received a library T-Shirt. Total reading time was 1,698 hours, 45 minutes for the 2014 Texas Summer Reading Club. This year readers were encouraged to read as much as they wanted, without any competition.

Those who read at least one hour and received a plastic book bag, Dairy Queen ice cream coupon, a pen, a bookmark and paint page are Cater Battle, Landry Bennett, Christian Coker, Clayton Coker, Cruse Coleman, Macie Frederick, Mallory Frederick, Seth Harmon, Katie Max, Blayne Mayfield, Carlie Mayfield, Kelsee Mayfield, Preston Mayfield, Wyatt Mayfield, Kenzie Reeves, Abcde Scroggins, George Slagle, Tucker Spivey, Anthony Welch Jr., Quaid Welch and Christian Yoda.

Readers who completed three hours are Hank Banner, Kolt Bennett, Scott Bryant, Timothy Paul Bujak, Ella Bullinger, Luke Bullinger, Cooper Coleman, Miley Donathan, Brendall Dunn, Land Edwards, Brandt Ellsworth, Azriel Jaramillo, Cayden Jaramillo, Logan Kelly, Evanne Kleinert, Riley Kumor, Lacee Littlefield, Levi Littlefield, Hunter Masters, Jackson Masters, Kitt Mills, Jolee Morrow, Jolee Pollan, Preslee Pollan, Bridget Scroggins, Kylie Thomas, Riley Thomas, Jade Villanueva, Damian Welch, Kaci Williams, Kolter Wood, Kooper Wood and Charlie Wander.

Those with more than six hours are Luke Alexander, Lyndsie Avenius, Arizona Barnes, Morgan Bujak, Trace Bullinger, Kaylie Canon, Kenadee Cross, Trystynn DeLuna, Brayden Dillard, Westin Dillard, Andrea Evangelista, Kase Fain, Blaine Frost, Caden Frost, Mya Garcia, Kamryn Hardy, Karys Hardy, Tessa Henderson, Tucker Henderson, Meagan Kelly, Ella Klyn, Collin Laude, Dominic Laude, Elizabeth Laude, Libby Longley, Logan Longley, Sadie Longley, Cooper Marek, Kindle Marek, Kinley Marek, Fletcher Moore, Destiny Osborn, Jaycee Osborn, Kaleb Osborn, Zaiden Peterson, Dent’n Ricketts, Hunter Strickland, Warren Strickland, Layden Tipton and Caleb Wallace.

Readers logging more than ten hours are Allison Bowles, Kaitlyn Bryant, Magee Fain, Joshua Fitch, Andy Gutierrez, Elizabeth Koetter, Breanna Mayfield, Kate Moore, Brayden Ricketts, Colton Ricketts, Jaydon Romines, Isaiah Sabine, Josiah Sabine, Brison Slaughter, Skyla Slottke and Jayla Thomas.

These readers who received a set of Book Bands for 12.5 hours of reading are Marie Bader, Tuff Banner, Alynia Boring, Rayven Boring, Danielle Bradley, Abree Brock, Aleigh Brock, Leah Bullinger, Jacieon Burnside, Jordyn Burnside, T. Alex Duke, Maddison Farris, Vantley Farris, Calon Gould, Lanie Gould, Logan Gould, Steve Gould, Sarah Klyn, Madeline Koetter, Allyson Laude, Dayton Leach, Giovanni Longoria, Miguel Longoria, Allison Marshall, Braylie Patterson, Kerstin Peterson, Logan Romines, J. T. Sanders, Savannah Sherwood and Donavan Slaughter.

Readers with 20 hours logged are Rylie LaMar, Holton Leach, Maverick Moore, Aubrey Peters, Tori Sanders and Seth Spivey.

Readers who read for 30 hours are Colby Collins, Savion Duron, Evan Evangelista, Emma Halberg, Jonathan Halberg, Abby Stillwell, John Mark Stillwell and Katie Yurcho.

“We are very proud of all those readers who participated in the 2014 “Fizz, Boom, Read,” said Librarian Norma Jean Ruiz-Hearne.

“We would like to express our gratitude to those who help make the 2014 Texas Summer Reading Club “Fizz, Boom, Read” program a success for the Edwards Public Library. The Lyndon Laseman Fun/Run, they donated the funds for our performers and programs. This is the third year we have been the recipients of their generosity, which serves the children of Clay County.”

Hearne also thanked The Clay County Leader for reporting the summer reading program, the Henrietta Dairy Queen for donating ice cream coupons, the Henrietta Sonic Drive In for donating slush coupons, Fidelity Bank of Henrietta for donating pens, Wells Fargo Bank of Henrietta for donating bookmarks, Clay County for supporting the Edwards Public Library, the City of Henrietta for the use of the Holman Center, as well as those who encouraged the children of Clay County to read.

All the readers who participated in the reading club can pickup certificates at the. Regular Wednesday Morning Storytimes will resume at 10 a.m. July 23 at the Edwards Public Library, 210 W. Gilbert in Henrietta, for more information, call (940) 538-4791.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply