[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Bellevue, Midway boys earn top honors in District 23-A


Clay County cagers Brandt Cassetty, Broc Terry, Logan Harper and Coach Colby Broussard earned top honors among 23-A’s all-district boys basektball selections, announced Wednesday.

Cassetty, a member of 23-A champion and regional quarterfinalist Bellevue Eagles, was chosen District MVP, while teammate Terry joins Midway’s Harper as Defensive MVP. Broussard was selected Coach of the Year. Forestburg’s Skyler Sandusky earned Newcomer of the Year.

Bellevue’s Matthew Belcher and Midway’s Ryan Terry earned first team all-district honors, along with Tyler Maynard and Colton Perkins of Slidell, Brandon Weed of Saint Jo, and Taten Vann of Forestburg.

Jakob Watkins and Kaden Ogle represent Bellevue with second team nods. Midway’s Auston Thorn also earned second team, with Malachi Moore of Forestburg, Khristian Talamantes of Slidell and Timothy Metz of Gold-Burg.

Athletes who earned honorable mentions are Bellevue’s Emilio Mendoza and Layne Morris, Midway’s Tristan Franke and Chance Horn, Forestburg’s Colton Raab and Bryan McDowell, Gold-Burg’s Tristan Parr and Colby Moody, Saint Jo’s Wyatt West, and Prairie Valley’s Matt Suarez, Tyler Carter and Michael Ducharme.

Cassetty, Belcher and Bryson Booker of Bellevue also earned academic all-district.



About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply