[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Bellevue’s York, Midway’s Mass earn first-team all-district nods


Two Clay County seniors earned first team honors in 21-A Div. II all-district selection, announced Monday.

Cassidy Mass of Midway and Cassidy York of Bellevue join Saint Jo junior Karla Fernandez, Slidell sophomore Kylie Franks, Prairie Valley junior Alley Roof and Forestburg senior Alex Sharon as first-team picks.

Bellevue’s Lady Eagles placed two athletes on the second team. Juniors Hannah McWilliams and Victoria Woods join Prairie Valley senior Anne Bristow, Slidell junior Jessy Goode, Forestburg freshman Makayla Mason and Prairie Valley senior Courtney Thompson.

Midway senior Harlee Rickman, and Bellevue’s Ally Corwin, a freshman, and Devon Cassetty, a sophomore, earned honorable mention.

District MVP was awarded to Caitlin Pruett, a junior at Slidell. Saint Jo senior Brooklyn McPherson earned Offensive MVP, while classmate Clare Weger earned Defensive MVP. Slidell freshman Kayler Talamantes earned Newcomer of the Year and Slidell’s Cody Vanover was named Coach of the Year.

Bellevue finished third in District 21-A and earned a bi-district title with a 46-37 win over Ector. The Lady Eagles fell in the area round to Yantis, 49-36.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply