[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Texas Farm Bureau honors Harrison with Pioneer Award


L.C. Harrison of Dean was honored with the Texas Farm Bureau District 3 Pioneer Award on Sunday, Dec. 8 at TFB’s 80th Annual Meeting.

L.C. Harrison

L.C. Harrison

The Texas Farm Bureau describes Harrison as a true promoter of agriculture.

“The Pioneer Award recognizes those men and women who have worked to promote Texas agriculture and have been involved in Texas Farm Bureau,” TFB President Kenneth Dierschke said. “We’re pleased to recognize L.C. Harrison for his hard work and dedication.”

Harrison joined the Clay County Farm Bureau in 1964 and served as its president for six years. In 1993, the lifelong resident of Clay County was elected as the TFB state director for District 3.

In addition to serving on a number of local and state TFB committees, Harrison has served on the boards of the Texas Beef Council, the Clay County Appraisal District, Capital Farm Credit and the Clay County Memorial Hospital. Harrison also served as a Nine Man Board member. He is a member of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and vice president of the Clay County Pioneer Association.

Harrison runs a cow-calf and yearling operation and raises wheat and hay.

TFB’s Pioneer Award honors one outstanding Texas farmer or rancher in each of the organization’s 13 districts, as well as one staff member. Winners are chosen annually by a panel of their peers for their exceptional contributions to agriculture and Texas Farm Bureau.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply