[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

All-District 5-2A: Watson, Carter earn ‘Newcomer’ honors

Riley Watson, 5-2A Newcomer of the Year

Riley Watson, 5-2A Newcomer of the Year


Logan Carter, 5-2A Defensive Newcomer of the Year

Logan Carter, 5-2A Defensive Newcomer of the Year

After defying prognosticators with a second place finish in District 5-2A Div. II, the efforts of two underclassmen have been rewarded with top honors on the all-district football team.

Sophomore quarterback Riley Watson was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year, and sophomore Logan Carter has earned a nod as Defensive Newcomer of the Year. Carter shares the honor with Robert Hawkins of Nocona and Damon Ledet of Alvord.

Jacksboro senior running back Kirk Weldon earned District MVP, while Jacksboro head coach Brian Hodnett was named Coach of the Year. The Tigers, undefeated in 5-2A, also placed D.J. Thomas as Offensive MVP and Garrett Johnson as Defensive MVP.

Bearcats earning first-team offense nods are senior lineman Gus Alamos, senior tight end Myles Marchman and senior receiver Conner Fletcher. Earning first-team defense honors are junior lineman Austin Broussard, senior outside linebacker Dustin Calabrese, defensive back Conner Fletcher and sophomore utility player Cody Fletcher.

Calabrese earned second team honors in two positions, wide receiver and punter. Bearcats earning second-team offensive honors are junior lineman Zach Bloodworth, senior tight end Tylor Brown, senior wide receiver Aaron Whitehead, junior blocking back Hayden West, utility player Cody Fletcher, junior running back Leo Hunter and junior kicker Jameson Dowell. Earning second-team defensive honors are sophomore defensive end Dylan Galyeam, inside linebacker West, outside linebacker Hunter, defensive back Whitehead and junior utility player Bryce Schroeder.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply