[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Petrolia High School Class of 2013


Petrolia High School graduates 24 students as the Class of 2013. Ten are honor students.

This year, Petrolia High School will have two valedictorians, an agreement made during the process of consolidating Byers ISD into the district. One valedictorian, selected from students who attended Byers through their junior year, and attended Petrolia CISD as seniors, will represent the former Byers High School.

Brad Groves is valedictorian of the class, graduating with a 4.3 grade point average, and plans to attend Midwestern State University in the fall to major in accounting. His goal is to become a certified public accountant. He is the son of Dwayne and Gerry Groves of Petrolia.

During high school, Groves was a member of the UIL Accounting team, and participated in band, 4-H and the National Honor Society.

Valedictorian representing Byers ISD is Sydney Daniels. Daniels graduates with a 4.0 GPA, and plans to attend Tarleton State University where she will major in family and consumer science. She is the daughter of Aaron and Angie Daniels of Byers. During her high school career, Daniels participated in FCCLA, FFA, National Honor Society, BETA Club, UIC, varsity golf, student council, yearbook, and volunteered at the First Baptist Church of Byers Vacation Bible School.

Alyssa Wesley is salutatorian of the class, and plans to attend Texas Tech University to major in business management with a minor in marketing. She is the daughter of Wade and Micki Wesley. During high school, Wesley participated in volleyball, basketball, powerlifting, golf, softball and tennis. She was also involved in National Honor Society, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, FCCLA and PALS.

Honor students are Allie Ablia, Sydney Daniels, Brad Groves, Macey Hall, Madison Oliver, Thomas Ramsey, Cheyenne Reese, Mallory Rindinger, Tyler Tucker and Alyssa Wesley.

Other class members are Joe Don Brock, Danica Bustos, Steven Davis, Mystea Driver, Taylor Dunn, Seth Flowers, Zachary Hutchens, Shelby Knight, Eric Luna, Baylee Moore, Will Morath, Madison Oliver, Jared Richardson, Adam Sandoval, and Simeon Trevino.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply