[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Cassetty earns district MVP, B. Terry named Defensive Player of the Year

District 21-A MVP Brandt Cassetty.

District 21-A MVP Brandt Cassetty.

Belleuve’s Brandt Cassetty was named Most Valuable Player by District 21-A, while teammate Broc Terry earned Defensive Player of the Year. Colby Broussard, who led the Eagles to the district title, was named Coach of the Year.

Cassetty and Bellevue senior Tyler Terry were also named to the All-Region III team.

Both Cassetty, a junior, and Terry, a sophomore, will return next season.

The Offensive Player of the Year award went to Slidell senior Trent Garrett, while Forestburg freshman

Earning first team honors are Bellevue senior Tyler Terry and junior Matthew Belcher; Midway seniors Brody Wilson and Ben Forester, and junior Logan Harper; and Slidell senior Isaac Davis.

Earning second team honors are Saint Jo junior Brandon Weed and senior Garrett Vonree; Midway seniors Mark Nall and Brent Jones; Slidell juniors Gracjan Pietyka and Colton Perkins, and sophomore Tyler Maynard.

Clay County athletes earning honorable mention are Bellevue sophomores John Grunseich and Emilio Mendoza; and Midway juniors Ryan Terry and Tristan Franke, and sophomore Austin Thorn.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Leave A Reply