[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Bennett, Sauer earn MVP honors in volleyball District 8-2A


Lady Cats Taylor Bennett and Annelise Sauer

Lady Cats Taylor Bennett and Annelise Sauer earned top honors in District 8-2A Volleyball. All-district teams were announced this week.

Bennett was named Co-MVP Server with Holliday’s Tara Henderson, while Sauer earled the title of Co-MVP Libero with Holliday’s Kelci Bedingfield.

Allie Hackley of Nocona earned district MVP. Holliday’s Kim Berend and Nocona’s C.J. Hamilton earned Co-MVP Setter. A pair of Lady Eagles, Morgan Lewis and Sarah Garfield, were named Co-MVP Hitters. Lakin Plaster of Jacksboro and Brittany Mitchell of Nocona were named Co-MVP Blockers. MVP Defensive Player went to Kealy Walker of Nocona, while Bowie’s Courtney Brady earned Newcomer of the Year. Mindy Patton of Holliday was named Coach of the Year.

Earning first team all-district were Joyana Zamzow, Henrietta; Anni Scholl, Henrietta; Karly Weber, Bowie; Jacie Mitchel, Nocona; Mallory Fowler, Jacksboro; Reagan Barrett, Nocona; Kristen Anderson, Holliday; andLewanda Gardner, City View.

Second team honors went to Addison Wade, Henrietta; Cassie Picket, Henrietta; Harly Betts, Bowie; Jaden Richardson, Jacksboro; Madilynn Cable, Nocona; Shayna Holden, City View; Miami Robertson, Holliday; Makenzie Kelly, Holliday; Cassie Kunkel, Holliday.

Earning honorable mention are Sierra Burkhart, Henrietta; Brei Jackson, City View; Megan Ashlock, City View; Kelsey Loake, Jacksboro; Darby Perry, Jacksboro; Lanna Plaster, Jacksboro; Rochelle Nelson, Bowie; and Emily Roth, Bowie.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.