[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Winners of annual playday, dummy roping announced


Winner of the Pioneer Reunion Playday are Taylor Freeman of Weatherford, Kat Hand of Deer Creek, Tator Jordan of Petrolia, Andee Shae Nored of Bowie, Augie Nobile of Bowie, and Tab Adams of Wichita Falls. (Photo courtesy Regina Hand)

While most gathered on the courthouse square Saturday to enjoy music, the arts and crafts show, shopping and visiting, a number of youth and adults made their way to Tex Rickard Arena to compete for awards.

Twenty-seven contestants entered Saturday’s youth playday at the arena.

Andee Shae Nored of Bowie was the high-point peewee girl and Tater Jordan of Petrolia was high-point peewee boy. In the junior division, Kat Hand of Deer Creek was high-point girls and Taylor Freeman of Weatherford earned high-point boy. Senior Augie Nobile of Bowie was high-point girl and Tab Adams of Wichita Falls was high-point senior boy.

Trophy halters were awarded to the winners. Halters were provided by Kerr Feed and Grain with leather and concho work by Billy Jean Jackson of Wichita Falls.

Frank and Sandra Blanscet put on the playday each year, with help from J.C. and Courtney Goodin of Thornberry, Cody Blanscet of Stephenville and Chris Ritchie of Wichita Falls.

Behind the section “C” grandstand, Lee and Lori Moss put on the annual Pioneer Reunion Dummy Roping competition.

In the age 5-and-under division, Ramsey Hensley took first place, followed by Cooper Coleman in second and Pate Cody in third.

Reece Hensley won the 6-9 division, followed by Bonner Hand in second and Brendell Dunn in third.

Kameron Moss won the 10-12-year-old division, followed by Kat Hand in second and Ben Johnson in third place. Hand is the 2012 Pioneer Reunion Rodeo Junior Queen.

Perry Lee won the senior division, followed by Troy Kyle in second place and Paul Berend in third place.

Brady Kyle won the open calf division, while Ty Boggeman placed second and Hagen Houck took third place.

Kyle also won the open steer division, followed by Mickey Gee in second place and Zane West in third.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.