[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Businesses, organizations, schools compete in float parade



Businesses, organizations, high school classes and area youth competed for top honors in the 81st Clay County Pioneer Reunion float parade Friday. Winners were announced during Saturday’s parade.

“Classics from the Bookshelf” was this year’s theme. Floats are judged on ingenuity and creativity, among other things.

Parade Spirit Division

First Baptist Church of Henrietta won the Parade Spirit Division with “The Bible.” The float was constructed by June and Leroy Griffin of Henrietta, and driven by Rick Hanson of Henrietta.

Clay County Animal Shelter won the Costume Award with “The Incredible Journey.” Riding on the entry were David Coker, Jody Waters, Emily Erwin and Gail King with dogs Max, Betty and Jelly.

Parade Partners Division

In the Parade Partners Division, “Romance and Dim Trails,” sponsored by Frank and Sandy Douthitt, won the Queen’s Award. The book was written by Katherine Christian Douthitt and published in 1938 as a history of early Clay County.

Descendants of Katherine Christian and Joseph White Douthitt played characters on the float. Katherine Douthitt was played by great-granddaughter Amy Maddux; Joe Douthitt, by grandson Frank Douthitt; W.S. Ikard, by great grandson Wil Douthitt; indian, by great-great grandson Corbin Douthitt; young Ikard family girl, by great-great granddaughter Ashlyn Douthitt; cowboys fighting over county records, by great-great grandsons Charlie and Joseph Maddux; young cowboy, by great-great grandson Will Maddux; and young pioneer girl played by great-great granddaughter Helen Maddux. Melissa Goehring drove the float.

“Lonesome Dove,” sponsored by Waurika Livestock, won the Pioneer Award. Lynn Burleson played Capt. Augustus McCray and Glenn Gonzenbach played Capt. Woodrow Call. Michael Dillaman drove the float.

“Moby Dick,” sponsored by First National Bank of Byers, won the President’s award. Jerel Goehring drove the float.

Schools Division

Henrietta’s sophomore class won first place overall in the school division with “Mary Poppins.” Riding the float were class favorites Addie McDonnell and Jameson Dowell. Among the HHS floats, the senior class won second with “Treasure Island.” Class favorites are Kristen Duncan and Tyler Coleman. The freshmen placed third with “First on the Moon.” Class favorites are Lindsey Crafton and Riley Watson. The junior class finished fourth with “Friday Night Lights.” Class favorites are Andi Stewart and Aaron Whitehead.

The Petrolia junior class earned the overall technical effects award with “Cat in the Hat.” The junior class won first place among PHS floats. Class favorites are Kirsten Kenyon and Tanner Welch. The freshman class took second place with “Alice in Wonderland.” Class favorites are Breanna Smith, Bandy Mataska and Dylan Knight. The seniors earned third place with “Peter Pan.” Favorites are Mallory Ridinger and Cole Davis. Petrolia’s sophomores finished fourth with “The Little Mermaid.” Favorites are Vinita Trevino and Anthony Wood.

Midway’s seniors earned first place among the MHS floats with “The Alamo.” Senior class favorites are Kelli Forester and Ben Forester. The sophomore class eared second with “Aladdin.” Class favorites are Faith Farr and Brandon Cannon. In third place was the junior class with “Frankenstein.” Class favorites are Irene Farina and Ryan Terry. Midway’s freshmen were fourth with “The Red Badge of Courage.” Favorites are Kassie Greer and Chance Horn.

Bellevue’s senior class won first place among the BHS floats with “Wizard of Oz.” Class favorites are Bailey Terry and Tucker Woods. In second place was the sophomore class with “Snow White.” Favorites are Amber Bush and Kyle Waller. Winning third place was the freshman class with “Charolette’s Web.” Favorites are Jacob Watkins and Savannah Allison. The junior class took fourth with “Friends of Dr. Seuss.” Class favorites are Kayla Specht and James Mangus.

Kiddie Parade

Winners of the Kiwanis Club Kiddie Parade are Jacie Moss and Tanner Pullen. Jackson Wynn Johnson finished in second place, followed by Linnea Heldmann and Margo Heldmann in third, Garrett Blevins in fourth, Jacob Klein in fifth and Elijah Baker and Madelyn Baker in sixth.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.