[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Clay County voters turn out for Tea Party candidate Ted Cruz


Clay County Republicans chose Ted Cruz, backed by the Tea Party, as their candidate for the U.S. Senate seat soon to be vacated by Kay Bailey Hutchison. Cruz won 69.6 percent of the vote in the consolidated precinct, outpacing opponent David Dewhurst 393-171.

The two candidates campaigned heavily in Clay County by phone and through the mail. The contentious runoff drove voters to the polls for higher-than-expected turnout. Some 564 voters participated in the Republican and Democratic primary runoffs. The last runoff, held in 2010, drew only 66 voters in Clay County.

In the Democratic runoff, Paul Sadler defeated Grady Yarbrough with 73.3 percent of the vote. Sadler drew 22 votes to Yarbrough’s eight. It was the only runoff in the state Democratic Party.

In the Republican runoff, Christi Craddick defeated Warren Chisum 117-82 for nomination for railroad commissioner. With the support Governor Rick Perry, Barry Smitherson defeated Greg Parker 98-87 for the Republican nomination for an unexpired term as railroad commissioner.

John Devine defeated David Medina 241-231 in the Republican runoff for Justice of the Texas Supreme Court, Place 4.

Statewide results were not available at the time of this post.

[table id=17 /]

[table id=19 /]

[table id=18 /]

[table id=20 /]


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.