[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Polling places consolidated for primary runoff


Registered voters in Clay County will be voting in one single consolidated precinct for the upcoming Republican and Democratic Primary run-off election to be held on July 31.   All Clay County voters will be voting at the Clay County Senior Citizens Center.  The center is located at 216 N. Hancock St., in Henrietta.

“Historically, run-off elections have low voter turn-out.  The 2010 Republican Run-Off in Clay County produced only 66 of over 7,000 registered voters, County-wide on Election Day and Early Voting combined,” said County Clerk Sasha Kelton in a press release. “With little interest from the voters, the cost of opening more than one polling place outweighs the benefit.”

There are no local races on the run-off ballots.

Effective Sept. 1, 2011, HB 1528 authorized the county to consolidate voting precincts into a single precinct, and deleted previous text requiring at least one consolidated precinct in each commissioner’s precinct.

The consolidation was a collective decision made among Clay County Republican and Democratic Party Chairs Rob Robinson and Joan Schaffner, and Kelton.  The consolidation is pending approval by The Department of Justice Elections Division.

Voters can cast ballots early during the week prior to election day, July 23-27, at the Clay County Courthouse Annex, 214 N. Main St., Henrietta, from 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.  Some voters qualify to vote early by mail.  Kelton reminds voters that this consolidation plan will only in affect for the primary run-off election.  All 16 polling places will be open for the November 2012 General Election.

Runoff elections are as follows:



United States Senator

  • Ted Cruz
  • David Dewhurst


Railroad Commissioner

  • Warren Chisum
  • Christi Craddick

Railroad Commissioner, Unexpired Term

  • Barry Smitherman
  • Greg Parker

Justice Supreme Court, Place 4

  • John Devine
  • David Medina



United States Senator

  • Paul Sadler
  • Grady Yarbrough

About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.