[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Republican, Democratic Primary results are in

By Matt Kelton
Pioneer Sentinel

Sheriff Kenny Lemons narrowly avoided a runoff in the Republican Primary Tuesday night, winning the nomination for reelection by three percentage points. Lemons drew 53 percent of the vote.

His nearest opponent, Randy Hanson drew 37 percent, and Harvey Freeman had 9 percent. To win the primary, a candidate is required to have 51 percent of the vote.

Lemons will face Dee Litteken of the Democratic Party, who defeated Bruce Specht in Tuesday’s Primary. with 62 percent of the vote.

Maribel Longoria, seeking the office of county tax assessor-collector, was the big winner in in the Republican Primary, defeating Dean Kyle with 72 percent of the vote. Longoria will face opponent Bobbie Gilmore in the November general election. Gilmore was unopposed in the Democratic Primary.

In district races, Clay County voters chose Jack McGaughey over Brandon Earp for 97th District Judge with 57 points. He will not have an opponent in November. McGaughey won the district with 59 percent of the vote in Archer, Clay and Montague counties combined.

Paige Williams of Nocona has earned 62 percent of the vote in the Republican race for district attorney, avoiding a runoff. Williams had 49 percent of the vote in Clay County, followed by John Swenson of Petrolia. The Democrats fielded no opponents for D.A.

In the state Republican Primary, Mac Thornberry defeated Pam Barlow with 78 percent of the vote to hold his seat as U.S. District 13 Representative, with 81 percent of precincts reporting. Thornberry had 1,333 votes in Clay County, to 498 for Barlow.

In the state senator’s race, Craig Estes defeated Jim Herblin with 66 percent of the vote with 83 percent of precincts reporting. Estes received 1,173 votes in Clay County to Herblin’s 567. Estes will not face an opponent in November.

David Dewhurst could face a runoff in his bid for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senator. At 10:30 p.m., Dewhurst had 46 percent of the vote with only 55 percent of precincts reporting. Dewhurst had 492,230 votes. Ted Cruz had 33 percent with 352,721 votes. Seven other sought the seat, left vacant by Kay Bailey Hutchison. Clay County voters chose Dewhurst with 785 votes to 484 votes for Cruz.

In the Democratic Primary for U.S. Senator, Grady Yarbrough drew 112 votes in Clay County. He drew 26 percent of the vote statewide and will face a runoff with Paul Sadler, who drew 35 percent.

Clay County voters chose Mitt Romney as the Republican nominee for president with 1,276 voters. Rick Santorum drew 148 votes in the county. In the Democratic Primary, Barack Obama drew 154 votes in Clay County. Four Democrats were on the ballot.

Local Contested Races by Voting Precinct

[table id=7/]

[table id=12/]

[table id=13/]

[table id=14 /]

Precinct Guide:

  • Precinct 1 – Southeast Henrietta
  • Precinct 6 – Byers
  • Precinct 8 – Northeast Henrietta
  • Precinct 9 – Northwest Henrietta
  • Precinct 10 – Vashti
  • Precinct 11 – Dean
  • Precinct 12 – Jolly
  • Precinct 13 – Thornberry
  • Precinct 14 – Charlie
  • Precinct 15 – Southwest Henrietta
  • Precinct 17 – Arrowhead Ranch Estates
  • Precinct 20 – Midway
  • Precinct 24 – Bellevue
  • Precinct 26 – Buffalo Springs
  • Precinct 27 – Petrolia
  • Precinct 32 –  Windthorst

About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.