[social] [social_icon link="/?feed=rss2" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [social_icon link="http://facebook.com/pioneer.sentinel" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="http://twitter.com/PioneerNewsNow" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [/social]

Cummings name Newcomer of the Year


Petrolia sophomore Katie Cummings was named Newcomer of the Year in girls District 10-A basketball.

Windthorst dominated the all-district honors. Senior Trojanette Leslie Schroder earned MVP, while teammate Lexi Koetter, a senior wans named Defensive Player of the Year and Heather Stark was awarded Coach of the Year. Windthorst senior Jayme Weatherred joined Seymour senior Carol Swindle as Co-Sixth Player of the Year. Seymour’s Tatiana Martinez, a senior, was named Offensive Player of the Year.

District 10-A boys MVP went to Olney junior Derrick Paul, while teammates J.J. Burns, a senior earned Offensive Player of the Year and senior Alex Vega earned Newcomer of the Year. Seymour senior Blake Atnip earned Defensive Player of the Year and Seymour’s John Anderson earned Coach of the Year. Electra sophomore was named Sixth Player of the Year.

Boys All- District

First team – Tyler Beecher, Petrolia, senior; Pietro Weaver, Electra, junior; Tyler Coats, Electra, senior; Brett Johnson, Olney, junior; Cameron Jacoba, Olney, senior; Cameron Montgomery, Seymour, junior; Tyler Baker, Seymour, senior; Dylan Stallcup, Windthorst, senior.

Second team – Tyler Colley, Petrolia, senior; Garrett Morris, Archer City, sophomore; Collin Buerger, Archer City, senior; Nick Simms, Electra, senior; Austin Borton, Electra, senior; Zack Barton, Seymour, sophomore; Tanner Gillispie, Seymour, junior; Tyler Berardi, Windthorst, senior; Lucas Veitenheimer, Windthorst, senior.

Honorable mention – Ryan Harrison, Petrolia, sophomore; Ty Tucker, Archer City, freshman; R.J. Melton, Electra, sophomore; Skylar Veitenheimer, Windthorst, senior.

Pirates earning academic all-district are Beechler, Colley and Adam Wamble, all seniors.


First team – Allie Ablia, Petrolia, junior; Danica Bustos, Petrolia, junior; Hannah Sanders, Archer City, junior; Marianne Easter, Archer City, senior; Ashley Garcia, Olney, senior; Maggie Slaggle, Seymour, freshman; Rachel Peters, Seymour, junior; Macey Siegert, Seymour, junior; Lindsey Long, Windthorst, senior; Lynsey Neeb, senior.

Second team – Alaina Anderson, Petrolia, senior; Rachel Ashton, Archer City, junior; Brittney Griffin, Archer City, junior; McKenzie Lewis, Electra, freshman; Laci Perez, Electra, junior; Miranda Kellar, Olney, junior; Carli Clifton, Windthorst, sophomore; Paige Dillon, Windthorst, senior.

Honorable mention – Kirsten Kenyon, Petrolia, sophomore; Marissa Vela, Electra, junior; Stacie McLaughlin, Electra, senior; Rainy Robertson, Olney, senior; Haley Browning, Seymour, sophomore; Amy Hollar, Seymour, senior; Taylor Humpert, Windthorst, junior.

Lady Pirates earning academic all-district are sophomore Abby Anderson, Cummings, Kenyon, Ablia, Bustos, junior Madison Oliver, junior Alyssa Wesley and Anderson.


About Author

The Pioneer Sentinel is an online newspaper designed to deliver the news of Clay County, Texas, in a concise and community-friendly format.

Comments are closed.